Geek Out! EGE 2016

EGE-2016-FI-360x203.jpg

EGE! ROUND 2! FIGHT!

EGE 2016 was bigger (there was literally double the hall space), but I can’t help but feel it wasn’t necessarily better. I don’t really have the time to write an essay on this, so I’m going to get to the (bullet) point.

The Good

  • More floor space
  • More gamers playing games (both console and PC)
  • More VR (I’m pretty sure there were at least 3 VR booths)
  • Plenty of food trucks
  • Lots of cool merch on sale in the artist’s alley
  • Two stages
  • Reasonable ticket price

The Bad

  • More of the same
  • Two stages but half the time I was there they were empty
  • No announcers really hyping anything up

In a nutshell, EGE 2016 ticked all the boxes, but the community vibe was really lacking. This, for me, was epitomised by the two stages, which were empty for quite a lot of the time I was there. The only time I saw anything going on was the cosplay event on the one stage, and a delayed gaming competition on the other where people were dealing with technical issues. Why was there not more attention grabbing things going on?

In closing, EGE 2016 was fine. It was worth the money. However, considering how well Fancon was received, the EGE organisers really should start chatting to the community about what they can do it make it a more exciting event.

Leave a comment